Belagavi: Though the entire nation eagerly waiting for the surprise results, people of the district seemed not that much having a curiosity about the outcome of the result as most who have political eagerness analysing that the same status quo of both the parties would be maintained.

BJP candidate Suresh Angadi and Prakash Hukkeri contested from Belagavi and Chikkodi constituencies, respectively, will win. However, Angadi who won the margin of about 75,000 votes in the last election will win by more than 1.5 lakh vote, while the margin of Hukkeri who won by the distance of about 35,000 votes will go lower to the number.

Angadi represented the constituency for three consecutive term won all the elections on ‘Waves”. He won the first election on Atal Bihari Vajpayee wave, second was of BS Yeddyurappa and the third one of Narendra Modi wave. Though Modi wave has slightly lost its ‘Current’, he would win his fourth election. Amid a strong wave of Modi, Angadi’ margin of victory drastically reduced about 50% in the last election as the difference came to about 75,000 from about 1.5 lakh in his second election. He has cast about 65,000 votes alone from Belagavi South constituency and rest 10,000 from remaining 7 constituencies.

However, things with Prakash Hukkeri are different. He was not interested to contest the election and wanted to switch back to state politics. Hukkeri also was said knocked the BJP door and took back the decision due to opposing of Rajya Sabha MP Prabhakar Kore and MLC Mahantesh Kavatagimath. He has contested against Nippani BJP MLA Shashikala Jolle’ husband Annasaheb Jolle. Since there was disappointment against him from his party workers and the difference of his victory votes expected to come down from the last election.