New Delhi: The Chief Election Commission has announced the by-polls to 15 of 17 Assembly Constituencies at the state, which vacant due to the resignation of Congress and JD(S) MLAs. The election will be held on Oct 21 and results will be declared on Oct 24. Nomination filing process starts from Sept 30 till Oct 4.

Election to Vijaynagar and Ranebennur constituencies have not been announced as stay order from the court due to a few petitions. The constituencies including Gokak, Athani and Kagwad in Belagavi district. After many years Congress had won in Athani and Kagwad.